Clarification please

I’ve been listening to the 2 Keto Dudes podcast for at least four months now. Some things are sinking in slowly. But I’d like to get a little clarification on the way the keto diet is described. (as I remember it just now.)

Basically it is that the keto diet is any diet that takes you into “nutritional ketosis” described as when your body “burns fat” with Ketones as a “by-product.” Those are the terms that recur in the podcasts.

In my simplistic way, I thought energy was produced by “burning” i.e. oxidation. And that in Ketosis the source of the energy was ketones rather than glucose. So that ketones are the source of the energy, rather than a “by-product.”

What am I misunderstanding? Are ketones sources of energy or the slag left over?

Reading Wikipedia I find
“Ketone bodies are produced by the liver…” (from fat)
“These ketone bodies are readily picked up by the extra-hepatic tissues (tissues outside the liver) and converted into acetyl-CoA which then enters the citric acid cycle and is oxidized in the mitochondria for energy”

If the contributors to the Wikipedia article are correct, perhaps Richard and Carl can make small corrections to their otherwise (for newbies like me) excellent description. If Wikipedia is wrong (as has happened :wink:) perhaps the 2 Keto Dudes can give a clearer explanation of just what is going on.

(Ken) #2

The State you’re talking about, with ketosis as a minor aspect, is Lipolysis. It is the burning of fat for energy. The main source of energy is fatty acids. When the lipid (fat) molecule breaks it’s split into fatty acids and glycerol. Fatty acids are used by most tissues except the brain. Glycerol goes to the liver and is used as the substrate for energy production of the two secondary pathways. One is the production of glucose via gluconeogenesis, the other being the production of ketones.