Chris Palmer, MD - Exercise and fasting linked to cellular clean-up essential to brain disease treatment and prevention

science
fasting

(Cecile Seth) #1

Looks like just 12 hours of fasting can do enough autophagy to help prevent Alzheimers and other neurodegenerative diseases.

I’m a fasting wimp so great to know that fasting appears to give partial credit! Saw what Alzheimers did to my grandfather. Don’t want to put @Rajseth through that.

Study also found that exercise also helps hoover up a cell’s waste proteins.

Exercise and Fasting Linked to Brain Detox - New research paves the way for possible prevention of Alzheimer’s Disease

First time I’ve started a topic, so be gentle with me folks!

('Jackie P') #2

Thank you for this. Most interesting.
I have been a nurse since 1976 and have seen a tremendous increase in the number of people with dementia/Alzheimer disease. It is the most debilitating illness.
Discovering the ketogenic diet and it’s role in preventing, and even reversing, metabolic illnesses has been a great revelation to me. With weight loss as a side effect, whats not to like.
I just wish it was more mainstream.

(The amazing autoimmune 🦄) #3

Great article that summarizes some information.

I wonder what they consider vigorous exercise?

(Cecile Seth) #4

That’s terrifying! I hadn’t realized.

The research Dr. Palmer referenced is only a couple of weeks old. His blog post seems to be in the “popular today” section, which is a good sign. It feels to me like Keto is approaching a tipping point. I keep meeting more folks in our community who are doing keto. Hoping we are approaching a “Tipping Point.”

('Jackie P') #5

I hope so too. In the UK Dr Aseem Malhotra, a leading cardiologist, has lobbied parliament.
The link is on this site somewhere but I am a bit of a technophobe when it comes to posting links!

(Cecile Seth) #6

In the Harvard study the vigorous exercise was biking.

(Cecile Seth) #7