Changing Doc need help

upcomingdoctorappo

(Aloy ) #1

Im a healthy 33yo A1C 5.3 (same over the last 10 years) but 3 of my grandparents and mom struggle with diabetes. I saw many of my mom’s eating patterns in myself and decided to get off of my carb addiction so I started the Keto lifestyle in mid January. As a result My skin looks better, my joints aren’t cracking as they used to (i assume reduced inflammation), I sleep better and wake up more easily, I stopped taking Adderall for ADD, I’m overall happier, have less anxiety, I have more energy (I’m a preschool teacher and I need lots of it)… and I told her that. I respect to my doctor’s knowledge, education and time invested in earning her degree, but she didn’t support my decision with all the good this lifestyle does which I thought might happen. I didn’t mind her not agreeing with me but her job is to offer lab tests and other ways to track my health. Since she was pretty passive and I felt ignored I found a highly recommended (described as “open minded”) GP doctor which I have an appt with on Tuesday.
This is where I need your help: I’d love to bring with me to the appt the most updated and reliable research out there about this lifestyle. My goal is for him to work with me to monitor my health regardless to his own personal belief. Who knows? He might get interested enough to convert :smile: would you kindly link me so I can Show him the science? Thank you in advance and best health to you all.

Check out the info in the FAQ. Lots of stuff there.

(8 year Ketogenic Veteran) #3

@Aloy
Gift him a copy of "The Art and Science of Low Carbohydrate Living " by Phinney and Volek.

It was written by and FOR medical professionals

(Tom) #4

I kid you not, this book is on my nightstand right now.

(Stickin' with mammoth) #5

Reading that right now, it’s pretty tasty. And, yes, it’s the perfect gateway drug for a doc you wanna get hooked on keto. It reads well and has a sizable bibliography.