Celebrating One year of Keto

(Kath Galvin) #1

I was a skeptic when my nurse practitioner suggested Keto. How many times had I been handed a meal plan and told to eat less and move more? Was this like all the others?

I had tried raw vegan, juicing, Weight Watchers, TOPS (Take Off Pounds Sensibly), exercise, half marathons, Plant Strong, GAPS, gluten free, Body Ecology and they always made a dent, but never stuck. As a mid-life Mom of one teen, I had dieted my way up the scale to morbid obesity.

I was terrified of fats and red meats with a history of heart disease in my family. How could this possibly work?

But feeling exhausted and weighed down, I took her advice and jumped onto the keto bandwagon last Mother’s Day. I wanted this to be the day I started really taking care of myself in a way that nurtured me and I knew starting that day would be a constant reminder to take care of myself too.

The first weeks sucked! I was working in a home loaded with carbs and I was shaky and hungry those first days. I was popping boiled eggs like they were going out of style. I was scared my hypoglycemic crashes would get worse as I toughed it out. But after that first rough week, those sugar shakes went away. And then my hunger started to go away, Then my TMJ, anxiety, indigestion and achy hips. Then after all that, my body started to release some weight…very s.l.o.w.ly.

I am what is called a “turtle” when it comes to the weight loss piece. My metabolism and adrenals were shot going into this, but I think they’re coming around. Healing starts internally long before some of us can see it externally.

Now I’m down a bunch of pants sizes with a bunch more to go. I may not look like a Keto Instagram influencer, but I am going to stick with this way of living for the long haul. The most surprising gift I’ve gotten from keto is a sense of peace and calm I never expected. I can move through life’s ups and downs easier in many ways.