Carnivore/ elimination diet

(Michael West) #1

Hi newbie here. Looking some advice on eating a meat only diet, no eggs or dairy. I’m confused by it all as I know I need to eat high fat but then if I eat basically 90% beef & 10% chicken/fish my protein I take will be too high? I have various symptoms, ibs, frequent urination, low libido with all tests & exams negative. I’m suspecting food or multiple food intolerances. I want to eat this way as a means of elimination diet as I’ve went keto before and liked how it helped with cravings but my symptoms (apart from ibs got better) remained and I suspect maybe dairy, eggs & nuts could have been a problem. Basically I’m needing help understanding if eating nothing but steak & chicken thighs will be ok for a period of 1 to 2 months to see how my symptoms react?

I’m on the Carnivore diet but I include eggs and small amounts of dairy. Drippings are your friend. After you cook your meat make sure to keep the drippings and make some sort of quasi-gravy out of it. You could use guar or xantham gum to thicken it if that’s your pleasure. Why not pork or fatty fish as well? You can get really fatty cuts of pork, like pork belly, and I find that salmon breaks up the week for me. Also, use different spices to change up the flavours of the meat.

Good luck!

(Michael West) #3

Thanks for the reply! Sorry I forgot to mention salmon, I already eat salmon often & will continue it on this diet. Pork I haven’t ate before so I will look into it for variation. I’m still confused how I can make sure that the fat outweighs the protein eating like this? & if it matters if I only use this for a temporary diet, although if it done wonders for me i would look at continuing long term of course!

Check this out. Fatty cuts of meat:

(Michael West) #5

All them meats are high in fat but isn’t the protein content higher? Am I being silly?