Carl is helping me again!

(Kathi Kellenberger) #1

Twenty years ago, Carl helped me change careers with his programming web site and his advice. I had been seeing him talk about keto for the past year on Facebook, so I decided to give it a try starting January 1st. I don’t have diabetes, but I have been fighting the same 30 - 40 pounds for 20 years. I have felt deprived and depressed with most diets in the past, so I just could never stick with anything.
I absolutely hate keeping track of what I eat, but I have been looking at nutrition labels since they have been around. I am now looking for the opposite of what I looked for before. My poor husband, who does the grocery shopping, probably thinks I am nuts. When I added mayo to the grocery list, he asked if I wanted fat free Miracle Whip, and I said no, I need lots of fat!!
We are empty nesters and, basically, fix our own food. Sometimes, I will cook, but mostly we fend for ourselves. I would say that he lives mostly on carbs. I am reminded of the kids’ poem “Jack Sprat could eat no fat; his wife could eat no lean.”

That’s how it is in our house too. He gets the super lean cuts of meat and I get ALL the bacon! :bacon:
Maybe someday I will have an all-keto shopping list, but for now i just KCKO.

(G. Andrew Duthie) #3

Welcome, Kathi. Great to see you here!

I hear you on getting family members on board. Hopefully, over time that’ll happen.

(carl) #4

Welcome, Kathi!

(Julie Anderson) #5

Hahaha! This describes my husband and I. The advantage to this is when he cuts the fat off his rib eye, I get to eat it. :smiley:

Julie

(David) #6

was a daily stop for me on the interwebs too

Welcome aboard! I have the same situation at home…wife says she cannot live without carbs. I have gotten her into IF at least.

(Debbie Stella) #8