Carb-filled cheat day

(Ron) #1

A co-worker and I were having a discussion today. I am Keto, he does Carb-Cycling.

I was telling him he should just cut out the carb cycling and just stick to Keto… he thinks it would be too difficult and he needs to have cheat days, I told him he doesn’t if he justs let his body get fat adapted he won’t even crave it anymore.

But this did spur an academic question I wanted to ask and see how everyone reacts to this… I am new to Keto, so I don’t have the experience yet, so I can’t answer for myself.

Let’s say someone was 6 months in, full on Keto-Adapted, and decides to have a carb-crazy day… True Pancakes for breakfast, Big Mac and Fries with a Milkshake for lunch… Pizza Buffet for dinner, and a huge ice cream sundae for a snack that night… WAY overboard… Not just having taco bell one night like Carl did.

What effect would this have as far as the body goes… obviously one would gain some weight, but how would this affect the body, how much of a “starting over” would this set one back? a week of getting re-fat adapted? I’m sure YMMV applies here.

(Guardian of the bacon) #2

I’m thinking sugar coma and you would feel incredibly awful.

In my case, I will pay for it. My gut would become ground zero nuclear ignition, my knees would become sore (climbing stairs would be difficult), my skin would break out in zits, I’d wake up to soaking bed sheets until body is rid of the crappy food (1 or 2 weeks?), and I would suffer the onset of carb cravings.

No thanks. Pass.

(Stickin' with mammoth) #4

YMMV is definitely the rule here and I think the nature of the journey makes a big difference.

If a relatively fit person goes keto and loses ten pounds in a few months, they’re not risking as much leaving ketosis as the pre-diabetic who struggled for four years to lop off a hundred to save their life. The second one has more to lose if they cheat, pardon the pun, and I’m betting they place a higher value on their achievement.