Breastfeeding and fasting

(Sierra) #1

Ok, ok I know…don’t fast while breastfeeding!
Problem is, I breastfeed my kids a long time and I’ve been either preggo or breastfeeding for 6.5 years (I have two kids, 5 and 2). I spontaneously IF and eat in a 6-10 window depending on when I get hungry. I need to lose some weight because of some back pain and was wanting to do some short (1-2 days) fasts.
So, has anyone here fasted while breastfeeding? What happened to your milk? What are the arguments against breastfeeding and fasting? Thank you for any info.

I have no personal experience with fasting and breastfeeding, but I understand what you mean about the “Just wait until you’re done breastfeeding” advice, since I too measured my breastfeeding time in years, not months. So, no real advice, just commiseration. For solid breastfeeding advice, Kellymom is always a good place to start: http://kellymom.com/nutrition/mothers-diet/fasting/

It looks like it’s mostly about religious fasting. Oh, and I should mention that my kids are now Loonnngg past the bfing stage.

(Sierra) #3

Thanks for the link. I’ll check it out.
Since my baby is two years old now I was thinking about some fasting experiments.

My son is 22 months and we’ve been winding down nursing for a while now, I naturally see us being done in the next few months.

I’m 24 hours into my first fat fast which I didn’t plan. I just wasn’t hungry at dinner last night so I didn’t eat, I had some HWC in my coffee this morning and that’s all I’ve had in the past day. It’s lunch time and I’m still not hungry and I’m not feeling ill. I’m debating on extending this out until I feel hungry and/or ill. I’m wondering if I’m just getting to the point where I only need to eat once a day.