Breaking the Bank

(Pam) #1

I’m still pretty new to all this - so I have been trying to by the right things…more meat less starch (which is expensive in itself) plus the erythritol and the almond flour and butter and ghee (what the hell is ghee anyway) for the recipes I have been making and it has gotten REALLY expensive really fast. At least eggs are cheap and I buy cheap bacon.

I get I have to have things like the almond flour and erythritol (or another sweetener) for baking (been making keto muffins to have breakfast things to eat) but are the things like ghee and grass fed organic whatever it all is really necessary? I guess I am looking for a way to mediate some cost or I will probably not be sticking to this long term.

(squirrel-kissing paper tamer) #2

I didn’t touch almond flour or do recipes until 8 months into keto. I stuck with basic butter and my bacon drippings for cooking things in. I personally prefer sucralose and there’s a Kroger brand which is cheap, same for stevia. I find that even though the meat is expensive (not grass fed, just meat) that veggies aren’t that bad so it evens out. Plus, after a while you’ll find you’re eating less. At first my grocery bill was more because I went wild buying everything and trying a bunch of new things, but then it was the same and now it’s less.

(Roxanne) #3

No, you don’t need most of those things. There is a whole subsection on this forum called “Keto on a budget” - you can find some great info there.

(mole person) #4

After the first couple of months I entirely gave up on all keto baking. It just slowed and eventually completely stalled my fat losses anyhow. I don’t use any of the sweeteners anymore either. Neither product is necessary for keto, in fact you’re probably better off without either if you can manage it.

Ghee isn’t really necessary either, but it’s a good cooking oil. You can make it yourself easily though.