BJJ and Keto

(Julian Webber) #1

Yes, it can be done!

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu (BJJ) is a form of submission grappling that is extremely addictive to those that take the plunge. I’ve been practising on and off for twelve years, and have often had a forced hiatus due to inflammation of the forearms, similar to tennis or golfers elbow.

This year I have managed this injury in conjunction with Keto and have found it much less severe. I attribute this to the reduction to systemic inflammation that comes with Keto.

I’m also a practitioner of IF, and really enjoy rolling in a fasted state.

Is there anyone else out there dabbling with BJJ and Keto?

I have done BJJ for the past year, have had to take some time of due to injuries ( wrist, shoulder and knee) and work, nevertheless hope to get back to it FAST!!

Your on to something about faster recovery from injuries with keto, also fish oil! Is awesome for inflammation :blush:

Ouss!

(Joel Abdul) #3

Sweet. Yeah, I play Judo a couple days a week. Glad you brought this up. I’m always curious what others find out as far as nutrition.

I IF as well. Usually on Judo days I try to get in more calories, but to be honest, not sure if it matters much. Next week debate if I should try a 24 hour fast on/24 hour fast off. It would mean my Wednesday/Judo day would also be a fast day.

We have a Sensei on Weds that absolutely crushes us…I love it. Lol

What do you do for nutrition? Do you try to incorporate more carbs or protein on traing days?

(Julian Webber) #4

I was really inspired by the ‘Carnivore’ episode, and for the last month have been really tightening down the carbs. I aim to eat zero, but this isn’t really practical.

So, I’ll usually train at 6am. Supplement throughout the day with salt water and black coffee, and IF until four or five in the afternoon, by then I’m ravenous. Fatty meat or cheese to break the fast, with ‘dinner’ about 7pm.