Best way to measure Ketone level

(Scootch) #1

Hi Eveyone,
I am a newbie, been doing Keto since the beginning of January 2018. I am mainly doing it for weight management. seeing nice results, and enjoying finding new ways to ketofy recipes.

Question - how are most people measuring their ketones? Am I doing this correctly?

I have purchased the following, and have noticed that my ketones are always fluctuating. I am tracking what I eat daily. sometimes low (1.5), sometimes medium (4.0)

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00SODYZQK/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Thank you,
Tony

Started Keto and have some questions
(Sarah ) #2

Spend your time money and energy on good food, that’s what really matters in a successful keto diet

(Chris W) #3

There are 3 ways of attempting to qualify and/or quantify that you are in ketosis.

1. There are urine strips which test if you are spilling ketones in your urine. These provide some feedback when you 1st start Keto, but many report that as the body becomes better adapted, they become less informative.

2. There are Blood Test devices, similar to blood glucose testers that quantify the concentration of ketones in your blood. Many people swear by these, but it is more of a measure of the availability of ketones than a reflection of the degree to which the body is using ketones for fuel. When the body is heavily using ketones for fuel, the amount in circulation may be relatively low.

3. There are breath testers. These are said to most accurately reflect that the body is indeed burning fat as a fuel source, but still may not differentiate if it is burning dietary fat or body fat.

Many of us have all 3 of these devices and have chased numbers at various points on our journey, but in the end, there is little to be gained by trying to achieve a higher number on any of the devices.