Becoming a keto guru?

(Ari the Wolf) #1

So, I don’t generally get out a lot. The places I do go to with any frequency, people remember me pretty well. I’m a girl, I have tattoos, opinions, and maybe sometimes a little attitude. I joke around, make people laugh with reasonable frequency, I’m an artist, and I’m at least fairly intelligent.

So when I drop 70lbs, from a size 18 or 20 down to a size 8, they noticed. Many people who remember me ask me what I did, and I explain. Many comment, “Oh, I could never give up _____!” Most realize they could when they think about it, after I point out that ____ is really just a vehicle for flavorful sauce, tasty meat or cheese or whatever.

In February, when I walked into the same gym I used to go to, the owner remembered me immediately. And was completely flabbergasted. When I tell her I’d lost all the weight basically sitting on my butt doing nothing much different, that it was strictly from diet alone, she was impressed. When I then, over three months, proceeded to improve every week at some lift or other, she was more impressed. She even referred to me this week as the ‘disappearing woman’, because in just three months I’ve lost another inch or so off my waist and improved my muscle tone all over. Fairly dramatically, considering I only go in her gym once a week.

I’m already coaching a couple of friends through how keto works, and various stumbling blocks involved, so that’s hardly news. What stunned me though, was Wednesday at the gym, the OWNER and primary trainer in the gym referred her husband to me with keto related questions. He asked a few things, I explained and suggested ways to tweak his routine and diet, and he listened with complete seriousness. They know I don’t have any fancy degrees or certifications, although that is a goal of mine, but being treated as the voice of experience by people who teach others to get healthy and fit… I’m still a little stunned, because that was entirely unexpected for me.