Anyone else have non-scale related reasons for keto?

(Jim) #1

I’m 48 years old, six feet tall and 165 lbs. I’m not doing keto to lose weight, but rather simply to try to get an overall healthier diet/way of life. Today marks just the start of week four for me, but I’m enjoying the diet. I don’t really miss carbs (aside from a good beer now and then). Many of the meals I eat are things I would very much enjoy even if keto wasn’t a goal. But I haven’t really noticed any changes yet. I’m not discouraged as I realize I’m very new to this. But I’m curious to hear from others who aren’t looking to lose weight or change body shape. Particularly those that have been doing this a long while.

For me, it was control of my blood sugars. I am a T2 diabetic. Since starting a restricted calorie keto way of eating, I no longer need to use insulin or metformin. Keto controls my blood sugars better than the medications did.

(Full Metal KETO AF) #3

I’m in a similar boat as @OgreZed, not T2 but pre diabetic and I am on a steroid drug for life and that works against me. My improvements have been slower than some who used insulin for years. But I am progressing. My original efforts were to lose weight and cut out carbs Atkins style to do it. I wasn’t obese but too big. I was reading a lot of stuff randomly on the net and knew about the link to keto. After reading I quickly ended up on this site and it has been a revelation.

Keto is like the stage 1 Atkins diet done in a healthy way, not as a diet but as a lifestyle. I avoid multiple ingredient things when I shop. I love the health focus of
the keto way. I feel great and have made huge improvements,
(no longer pre diabetic) in 6 months.

Keto for LIFE! :cowboy_hat_face:

I am also not looking to lose weight but wanted to break the energy high/low cycle and overall I just felt myself slipping into a stronger carb addiction as I got older.