About to try 2 week fast for first time, has anyone with low blood pressure done an extended fast through their period?

I’m a newbie to fasting but my wife used to do it as a teenager for religious reasons. She tried again this past fall but felt awful and had to stop as she was in college at the time. I found Dr Fung online after trying to find out what she did wrong and we read his book to get more information. We want to try a two week fast and have made some bone broth, almost cleared the house of food, and are as prepared as we can be. My period is due at the end of next week(we want to start Monday morning or Sunday night at bedtime if you will) and I’m not sure what will happen. It’s possible it will just wait(I had a high stress time a couple of years ago which made it disappear for 4 months so it’s nothing new to me!) but I’m a little concerned as I suffer from Hypo-tension or low blood pressure. Currently I figure I’ll monitor my BP and Blood Sugar and eat a lot of salt with or without broth. I know the signs of everything going bad so I’m ready to do something if I need to.

My main question is if anyone else with Hypo-tension has any info on extended fasting with Hypo-tension or fasting with periods with hypo-tension? Because I seem to be special or no one’s come forward yet as I haven’t found anything.

(Bunny) #2

Do you mean your not going to eat anything for two weeks?

How much do you weigh?

2. Orthostatic Hypotension Test:

All you need for this one is a blood pressure cuff. Lie down for 5 minutes and then take your blood pressure and make note of it (especially the systolic – top number). Then stand up and take your blood pressure again immediately.