A1C going the wrong way on long term keto

(Ursula wagner) #1

I’ve been doing keto for about 4 1/2 - 5 years but the last two A1C ( Nov 2021 and May 2022) have gone up. I lost about 88 pounds and brought my A1C down to 5.2. Starting last year, it went up to 5.7 and now it’s 5.9. I’m getting scared. What could be happening? I’m a creature of habit. I eat a lunch and sometimes I have a small snack for supper but mostly I fast until the next lunch. I thought perhaps I was drinking too much wine so I cut it out completely but it’s still increasing. I walk 2-3 times a day, putting in 15,000 + steps. I’ve also started using cannabis oil ( a small amount before bed) for RLS and increased my magnesium and potassium for the same reason. I increased my carbs a small bit because I was losing too much weight and I was looking anorexic. What can I look for? What can I do? Does anyone have any thoughts or suggestions?

(Bob M) #2

How do you feel? Do you have any symptoms such as like those you had pre-keto? Are you exercising (or are more active) more than you did say 4 years ago?

Have you worn a CGM or done other blood sugar testing to see of the A1C result is actually true?

My theory (assuming the A1c is true): your body is making more blood sugar to provide support for whatever it is you’re doing (such as walking).

By the way, wine should actually reduce your blood sugar.

(Bob M) #3

You might get a fructosamine test, which does not rely on red blood cells:

(Ursula wagner) #4