A little sweetener in my coffee while IFing?

(Amy Roush) #1

I know it’s not the gold standard but could I have a little sweetener in my coffee without defeating the purpose of fasting? I just started 16:8 IF and am only doing it for weight loss.

(Crippie) #2

So I am not a fasting expert, but a calorie free sweetener should still maintain a fast. It may cause you to have worse cravings though, all depends on how you react to those sweeteners.

I like to go with what Jason Fung says, and if it helps you fast then do it. A little bit of sweetener may not be what some consider a true water fast, but if it helps you fast then do it, you’ll get most of the benefits of the fast and if that little bit helps you get through it then its worth it. Its the same thing with people supplementing in bone broths or a fat fast.

Personally, when I am doing my normal IF, I still have my bulletproof coffee in the morning. It is not technically a fast, but really just a fat fast, but I tried without it and I couldn’t make it, so I keep it in there and it works for me. If I am trying an extended fast, I usually leave it out, but may change that my next extended fast, as I have had trouble maintaining a long fast.

Long story short, do what works for you. :slight_smile:

Your goal with 16:8 IF is to keep your insulin levels low for 16 hours and dramatically improve your insulin sensitivity over time as a result. A little sweetener in your coffee may induce a small insulin release (as many things do) but if the coffee keeps you going through the 16 hour fasting window I’d say it’s better than the alternative of not doing any fasting.