4 months in, no fat lost? am I doing something wrong?

(scien) #1

Hey guys!
I’m wondering if any of you have similar experiences or any advice. I would be very grateful :).

So, I’m 22, female, 5’7 and about 154lbs. I have been doing keto for 3-4 months now, I started it mainly for health benefits as I am prone to depression and insomnia. Since then, I had trouble falling asleep only once and that was the night before a huge exam so it’s normal! I have been feeling really well, am adapted since I can go skiing or hiking without a problem, eating only keto foods. I have even had 3 outbursts of the keto rash, but it always went away fast. The point is, I am definitely in ketosis.

My period has always been quite irregular, but it went bonkers last year as my cycle was only 14 days long. Since going keto, I have only gotten it once (which is fine by me, but am wondering if my body is still healing or something?). Before keto, I tried handling my period with the pill, but it made me feel awful and I gained 10-15lbs, which I thought would go away after stopping the pill and especially after going keto. WELL, I HAVEN’T LOST A SINGLE POUND nor do my clothes feel different etc. I’ve been tracking with MFP and my stats are 1600kcal, net carbs usually lower than 20g and never ever over 50g, protein varies from 40-60g, the rest is fats. I get 7-8h of sleep and am not stressed most of the time.

I’ve tried excluding dairy, really really upping the fat (200g!!). nothing. It’s a bit frustrating, not losing weight. I know I’m not obese and that I don’t need to lose weight, but it would be really nice to shed a bit of fat.

I have noticed, that I don’t gain weight either, even if I gorge on fat and go over my protein as long as I stay away from carbs. Could it be that my body just needs more time to heal?

Would appreciate any advice :slight_smile:

(Hala) #2