15 days of keto - help needed

insulinresistance
type2diabetes

(Dario) #1

Hi all,
I am diabetic, type 2 with insulin resistance and that is the main reason why I started doing keto.
When I started two weeks ago, I was 263lbs and in two weeks I got to 256lbs.
I am 46 years old and 6ft2in tall .Fairly active, mainly walking and swimming.
While doing keto, max carbs I eat is up to 30g per day coming from vegetables.
I follow my food intake through myfitnesspal and I stay under 1.800 kcl daily, mostly around 1.600kcl.
Daily I drink around 100 oz of water, sparkling water and unsweetened tea.
Also, when started keto in parallel I started intermittent fasting from 6PM till 10AM.

As I am new to all of this and having so much different websites with contra dictional information, wanted to ask you guys, I am on right track?
Is losing 7lbs in two weeks to small or normal taking in consideration all info above?
Should I combine immediately fasting and keto? Or should I first adopt to keto, and then start with fasting?

Thnx for your tips and comments

Cheers
Dario

If you feel right, you eat right (macros, nutrients) and don’t lose fat too quickly, it’s probably okay.

You can start intermittent fasting together with keto if it’s comfortable enough for you… I continued my IF on keto though I had no idea it was a thing, I just ate the way I felt like, didn’t force-feed myself when I didn’t want or need food… Forcing IF just because people say it’s good and you should be able to do is wrong IMO, no matter if you are fat adapted. When you are a newbie, it’s usually discouraged as getting used to keto can be hard enough, if you don’t feel it, your body still may, not informing you… My body is very communicative so if it doesn’t complain and I feel okay, I totally don’t mind doing different big changes at the same time. 16/8 IF sounds very normal to me but I am a born intermittent faster I guess :smiley: (I just mess it up with late eating sometimes but it’s far from ideal.)