Worried

(Jessica) #1

Hi all. I’ve been loving this way of life for about 9 months. I started and didn’t lose much weight for 2 months, bouncing around the same 8 pounds. At the 2 month mark, the weight starting to come off. I then had a 2 month stall with no pounds lost, but dropped from a 14 to a 10 over that period. Super thrilled! I weigh in every 2 weeks and always seem to lose about 3/4 pounds over that period now. The problem? I’m losing more weight now and not slowly. I’m only about 25 pounds from my goal, and seem to be losing 7/8 pounds every 2 weeks. This would normally make me happy, but I am educated enough to know that rapid weight loss isn’t always a good thing, especially when it breaks a pattern I’ve followed pretty consistently for a while. My macros are accurate, and I have t changed anything. I’ve always been moderately active, walking daily and using my elliptical 4/5 times a week.
I’m between an 8 and a 6 now. Started at an 18/20.
Should I be worried or concerned or does this happen sometime (I know it happens for some people in the beginning but what about when we are getting closer to our goal?)

(Eric - The patient needs to be patient!) #2

Are you losing 7 to 8 pounds a week or 7/8th of a pound per week?

(Alex ) #3

What sort of caloric deficit are you in with your exercise, and what are you eating??

the chances are Jessica that you’re probably losing fluids, water weight, highly unlikely that your body is dispatching 7-8 pounds of body fat every week.

i have plateaus regularly, then big whoosh type drops, some weeks I can eat less calories, and workout more, and the weight goes up! Scales are just not a 100% reflection of your ketosis results.

If you’re being consistent and healthy, and don’t have any ill effects, I’d just run with it for now, if you suspect it’s anything else, go and see a Doctor for advice! :slight_smile:

(Jessica) #4