Why dont i sweat?

(Jennifer Douglas) #1

I have a question and hope someone might have some insight. I have been an indoor bike instructor for years. Typically i sweat like crazy during my class…To the point that my children won’t touch me after class. My shirt was usually completely drenched. I have been doing keto for 4-1/2 months and I’m doing great. After about a month of eating keto, i noticed that i was not sweating as much. Stil now i am not sweating almost at all. I wear a heart rate monitor and i know that i am working every bit as hard as ever. I promise that i drink a lot of water. I also take in a good amount of salt to keep my electrolytes up. I get that i am not holding as much water in the carbs, but is it weird that i don’t sweat?

(Sophie) #2

Maybe your body is optimizing it’s resources. Why not consider it a plus!

(Consensus is Politics) #3

I haven’t heard of this. But if it was a by product of Keto, it should happen to me too. Now that you mention it, I have been less sweaty. But I think I know why I am, and it might be related to your own.

I began to notice the past month or so, that I was getting cold. Before going Keto, and this was for many years, I usually slept in shorts and maybe a t shirt. And didn’t use a blanket. At worst, I might use a sheet, just to keep annoying mosquitoes at bay. I was pretty much always hot. I could sleep in a room not heated at all, and be perfectly comfy with it in the 40’s.