What I see everyday. Stroke, Dementia, heart disease

(Joe) #1

This is mostly a rant but bear with me its a long read which may shed some light on the dangers of the SAD diet you don’t see everyday. Strictly anecdotal but I don’t think many here will doubt my observations.

I post here often and some who read some of what I write may pick up on my reasons for changing the way I eat. Essentially it boils down to me wanting to live a long and healthy life (revolutionary I know). And after the birth of my daughter I feared at 33 years old I was well over half way done with at least the healthy portion of it as I was staring down the barrel of chronic illness.

I was able to come to this conclusion of my ultimate mortality because of my profession. I am an occupational therapist and I specialize is neurological rehabilitation. My job is to rehabilitate people who suffer strokes, brain injuries, spinal cord injuries etc. In a typical day I interact with 8-11 patients with 50% having had strokes.

I can tell you with almost certainty that diet is responsible for easily 75% of the stroke patients I see. I can dive into a medical chart and follow the history. 55 year old man history of HTN, hyperlipidemia, DMII, atherosclerosis. I can see the blood work going back years showing a pattern of pre-daibetes then diabetes, I can see that they a stent placed last year and they have been on statins since their 40s. On average these patients are taking a dozen medications to treat the above conditions yet they still had the stroke. In the rare case someone is not metabolically damaged you will see a “rotten luck” cause such a heart defect, aneurysm, or fibromuscular dysplasia. Smoking is obviously a common finding but rarely appears in isolation. And everyone not caused by a clear defect in the cardiovascular system beyond their control I would suggest almost 100% have metabolic damage.