Weird question about exercise

(Jess) #1

Hi all! I’m new to keto. I had a weird experience today and wanted to see if any of you have experienced it or have any ideas. I started this whole thing with a 3 day water fast then moved into keto. During the fast I had horrible keto flu which got better when I took electrolytes but was still a struggle. When I started eating I ate keto and immediately felt better. So today I decided to resume exercising with a 4 mile hike on a very easy hill/trail.

The hike started out normal but as I started to get my heart rate up going uphill I started experiencing a weird feeling in my lower abdomen. Think of the area where people get that deep V-cut in their lower abs – that’s where it started. This whole region started to feel very fatigued - like I just did a bunch of reverse crunches and my muscles had enough. This was on my front side, not on my back. As I continued to climb this feeling got worse.

Eventually my whole pelvic region was full of pressure and my muscles in that area were very fatigued. The pressure was like when you really have to go to the bathroom (except I didn’t have to go) or how menstrual cramps feel minus the pain (except I’m nowhere near my period.)It got worse the more my heart rate went up. I also was very winded. I had to stop a few times to catch my breath. I hike 25-30 miles a week and never have to stop on easy hills. When I got to the top I had to sit down to catch my breath. Besides this issue I felt fine, my mind was clear and my energy was good and I was well hydrated. There was no pain, just a very uncomfortable feeling. Everywhere else on my body felt totally normal. After I started to go downhill the fatigue and pressure got much less. After getting home I was back to normal after a few hours.