Weight loss as a goal getting lost?

(Jen) #1

Hear me out. I’ve been keto since March with weight loss as my originating goal. Since then after reading lots of books/blogs/websites, watching YouTube videos and listening to hundreds if not thousands of hours of podcasts I now know keto is about metabolic healing first and weight loss is a positive side effect. Has it though gotten lost in the shuffle as a long term goal? Many people still talk about it a lot but it often feels too far down the list, getting lost in the trees of test result numbers. This is why it concerns me. I’m a registered nurse working in a hospital on a medicine ward. No one ever thinks or plans to be in the hospital for long periods of time but it does happen. I’m here to tell you that continuing to carry extra weight is detrimental for most people when they are in hospital. When you are weak from an illness or accident however great your other biomarkers are those extra pounds may be a problem. Getting out of bed, mobility, turning and positioning, skin integrity and elimination are just a few things that are impacted by extra weight leading to longer recovery times. I suppose this seems very specific and again most people don’t expect anything to ever happen necessitating a hospital stay. I guess I’m just saying that finding optimal body composition, while possibly not the primary goal should still figure in the keto journey.

(She had one feck to give and that feck is gone.) #2

I think weight loss is still a primary goal but it is no longer fashionable to say so. In addition I think it can be comforting to focus on other health goals when weight loss is slow or stalled. This can keep one’s head in the game, enabling one to KCKO until all health biomarkers are reached including weight. I like to think in terms of size over weight, personally - since I’m doing a muscle building program, but agree that it’s very important.

(Jen) #3