Weight gain doing Keto and Crossfit

(Brian M) #1

I’ve been eating Keto since Feb 2018 so over a year.

I’ve been crossfitting over that time. I’m competitive in my area so I do it regularly.

Over that time, I’ve increased my one rep max’s and endurance times. All while losing fat. I love it.

However, in the last month, I have INCREASED my body weight about 5 lbs. Not much has changed (I bought an Oura ring so now my sleep is slightly better). I’ve also noticed that I feel sluggish and my joints have been sore lately (left wrist/shoulder). My times are still good but I feel like I don’t have as much strength.

Anyone experienced weight gain after doing keto for over a year? Who has done this long term for more than one year?

(Jay Patten) #2

I have been keto for over a year and I will admit that there are times when I feel sluggish. I found that eating more green leafy and cruciferous vegetables has helped a lot. Of course I also drink a cup of salty broth every day as well.

I usually fast during the day and eat when I get home from work. I had an upset stomach yesterday and didn’t really eat much. I had multiple visits to the bathroom, if you know what I mean, and now I’m feeling quite sluggish today.

I also strength train, so I think I just didn’t eat enough yesterday, I’m not sure.

As for the weight gain, I would suggest measuring yourself with a tape. That way you know for sure if it is fat or muscle you are gaining.

(Brian M) #3

Thanks for the reply and the reminder for more salts. I cook with the pink salt but I should be doing more. I have bone broth at home too and haven’t cracked it yet.

I typically will fast from 7-8pm until 3-4pm the next day so around 16-17 hrs. However when I’m training hard some days I just feel like eating during the day.

Do you measure waistline?

(Katie) #4

Weekly pictures will also help ypou determine what is changing in your body’s composition (water gain/loss, fat gain/loss, muscle gain/loss).