To count calories or not to count calories for weight stall

(Richard M) #1

Yes, I know this topic has been beat to death. But not since June of 2018. So why not resurrect it.

I have been doing this WOE for 3 years. Out of everything i have researched, read, watched, etc… The one item or science that i am the most confused about is Calories. One person says count calories, but the majority of what I research says DO NOT count calories, because you don’t want to restrict your body of calories(food, Marcos, Nutrition how you want to call it), or your body will go into “survival mode” and NOT want to burn fat to lose weight. I quit counting macros and calories a long time ago.
Then, Dr. Rob Cywes comes out with this video.

I realize, as you lose weight you need to re-adjust your calorie intake.
From what I interpret from the video, eat a reduced portion of food. Take a break. Then, if you are still hungry, eat some more until you are full.
This sounds very doable, but my concern is eating to little of calories/food and your body “shuts down” and doesn’t want to lose weight aka burn fat.
What is you take on the video? Am I looking at it the wrong way? Your opinion on counting Macros and calories?

Maybe I need to start counting Macros/Calories.

(Chuck) #2

This last Thanksgiving I gave up on counting calories, carbs, protein, and fat. I also gave up on using an app for keeping up with my fasting time. I also put the scales away and just paid attention to how my clothes fit, and how I felt.
My lab work has improved to the point I am now in the normal range blood work and kidney function across the whole spectrum. My blood pressure is now well within the acceptable normal range. I don’t eat processed foods or fast foods. I don’t normaly eat any thing with wheat.
Oh did I say that I am 76 years old? I have never been hospitalized, never had any surgeries and I am prescription drug free.