Sugar at my job

(Zara X) #1

New to this forum so I don’t know if this in the right category.
I am a baker and often time need to taste test the goods I am making, or when developing a new recipe will need to taste it to see if it is okay.
Obviously i don’t want this to kick me out of Ketosis. So if I chew the bakes but don’t swallow them, will my body still absorb the carbs and sugar?

Any help will be appreciated

(Dirty Lazy Keto'er, Sucralose freak ;)) #2

Welcome Zara :slight_smile:

I smoked some weed once, but didn’t inhale it. Later, I found out, it works much better by inhaling :slight_smile: lol

Seriously THOUGH, I could not put sugar in my mouth, taste it, then spit it out. Id rather put Splenda in my mouth, taste it, then swallow it ! :slight_smile:

BTW, My GF loves to bake. Since she has went Keto, she has barely slowed down, only now she uses a lot of almond flour, for Keto friendly baked foods.

(Trish) #3

Although I don’t have numbers I would say that you would definitely get effects of the taste testing. Additionally, it will be enough to keep you in cravings if you, like many of us, are a carb junky. I’d equate it it to the alcoholic who wants to be a wine taster who technically doesn’t swallow the wine.

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #4

It won’t necessarily ‘kick you out of ketosis’, depending how much you don’t swallow. Be aware, however, many on this forum report that just getting something/anything sweet past the lips triggers insulin even if it does not affect glucose. Repeatedly triggering an insulin response could inhibit ketone/fat utilization. And, as @Shallimar points out, it will likely trigger/enhance cravings. Kind of like Russian roulette.

No, u will stay in ketosis. The worst what u can get is very tiny insulin rise as the body tries to anticipate for the carbs. This is quite individual and likely not a problem at all.

Must be weird tho dancing with the devil like that. :grin: