Studying keto! Inspired by Richard

(Suzi Jenkins) #1

Hey keto peeps!

I am still a relative newbie here and have been binge listening to the podcasts for the last couple of months. I am just up to where Richard took a break and Carrie joined, so no spoilers please.

Long story cut super short - I am trying a little lifestyle directional management. Which means I am looking at slowly surrendering my current job to move into a different way of working, which incorporates my beliefs in various topics, including a keto lifestyle.

I can’t be Carl and Richard and do this unpaid (thank you thank you and thank you for all you have done guys), but I am interested in finding a way of creating true value that has real worth. And in order to do that ethically and morally, I need me (another) education! I have an undergraduate degree and a post graduate degree in entirely unrelated subjects and am now searching how I can study this stuff.

So that presents me with two problems.

a). I cannot quit my job to undertake fulltime education.
b). The two dudes have made me HUGELY sceptical of all the stuff that is out there to be studied (Richard’s comments about having to learn stuff on his degree course that he knows is wrong, I find terrifying).

So I have enrolled in a lightweight free course, just to get the ball rolling. I was fully prepared to be shouting “show me the science” at the screen, when, just minutes into the online course, I saw " The medical advice is that eating a diet high in saturated fat can raise the level of cholesterol in the blood. However, further research (Press Association, 2015) suggests there may not be such a clear link."

Also mentioned:

“For adults, the reference nutrient intake (RNI) is 0.75 g of protein per kilogram of body weight per day. For an average man weighing 83kg, his protein needs are 62g per day. For an average woman weighing 70kg, her protein needs are 53g. However, an average western diet contains much more protein than that.”