Struggling newbie

Hello everyone,
I have been doing keto for about two months now and I am really frustrated, looking for some advice.

I started really trying to lose weight about 5 months ago. I was doing straight calorie in calorie out diet and it was working slowly, but I was always hungry. So I decided to try and switch to keto.

I got the initial drop of 7lbs when I first started, but it has been a real struggle since then. I am now bouncing between 252 and 255 lbs. One day up, one day down.

What I am seeing is that some days I am going over my calorie count but I am finding it hard to strike the balance with calories and macros. Things higher in fat are usually higher in calories and when I eat those there is less protein, typically. So one day I get in good fat, but too many cals. Another day I get good protein, but not enough fat. The only thing I manage to stay consistent on is 20 to 22g carbs a day. Does anyone have any references or suggestions on where I can find some help on how to find recipes that are high fat and protein but low carb and calories? I feel like this should should be way easier than I am making it… Any help is appreciated!

(Allie) #2

Stop limiting calories and just limit carbs to 20g.

(Cindy) #3

Stop tracking calories. Seriously. Eat <20g of carb per day, eat when you’re hungry, stop eating when you’re satiated. If you’re used to doing CICO, then you have to change your thought patterns, because keto does NOT rely on calories to work. It relies on your body changing from a sugar burner to a fat burner and that takes TIME. While you’re adapting, you need to eat so your metabolism improves…and calorie restricting won’t help with that.

So even if you must track macros, ignore the calories. Seriously. :wink: Eat fatty meat, allow yourself to eat the healthy fats (olive oil, avocados, olives, etc), and keep your carbs <20g/day.