Still not sure why this works

I’m not a newbie… I did Atkins for about a year (20 years ago) and have been doing keto for 10 days now and it’s all coming back to me… like riding a bike. :slight_smile: But the one thing I STILL am not sure about (yes, I’ve done lots of reading and see conflicting info) is WHY does keto work so well for weight loss? Is it:

Because there is a science and process that is enabling us to take the weight off faster and more efficiently due to the ketones and change in metabolism? Or…

Is it because the foods we are eating now keep us fuller longer and we basically just eat less than we used to?

I know when I gather with 20 family members on Thanksgiving and they see me passing on the carby stuff they are going to attack my “stupid way of eating” and I would love to have some educated, short responses for how and why this works so well. Since I will have only been ding it for about 2 weeks I won’t have incredible weight loss to shove in their faces (yet).

Thanks in advance.
Sue

(Damon Chance) #2

Its both as far as I can tell. The ability to easily stick to a better way of eating due to less cravings and hunger is an amazing tool. This will definitely help keep you from overeating and cheating. The hormonal advantage this provides in supressing insulin is a distinct advantage that helps get the fat loss going. Being able to easily use fat for energy keeps us able to go longer between meals further suppressing insulin.

I like that. Maybe I’ll print it and keep it in my pocketbook.
Sue::+1:t2:

(VLC.MD) #4

agree with @d_to_the_c.
Works better than Atkins because it is easier on your metabolism and easier to stick to. Keto also reduces your appetite by getting your insulin very low so you maximize fat burning.

(Liz ) #5

Keeping insulin low to allow the release of fat stores is the key. I was low carb & I ate the exact same number of calories, even fewer, before I started keeping my carbs below 20 per day, & I gained weight.