Stalling with weight loss

(Mindy Rees) #1

For the last 3 weeks I have lost 5 lbs a week, this week I have not lost anything at all…why does this happen and how can I stop it from happening?

You can’t, loosing 5lbs a week consistently is very unrealistic. Assuming you just started most was water. Are you tracking what you’re eating? There’s ways to get ahead of the metabolic slowdown that happens naturally when we loose weight, it’s takes cycling what you’re doing. When you hit that point depends on a few different things.

(Mindy Rees) #3

Yes for the last 3 weeks it has been 5 lbs and I keep track of what I eat everyday. It may have been water weight but I have been doing this for 2 months now.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4

Weight loss is not linear. There will be fluctuations in the rate. This is normal. And in any case, one week does not make a stall. You are doing just fine, so keep ketoing on.

Bear in mind also that what you want to be losing is fat, not muscle or bone, and a healthy ketogenic diet can actually promote increases in lean body mass while at the same time allowing the body to shed excess stored fat. Scale weight should therefore not be your only indicator of progress.

Then I’d say make sure your not eating too much for your metabolism while at the same time eating enough to keep it going. Have you set any limits or must hit macros for yourself? Are you physically active?

(Mindy Rees) #6

I do watch my Marcos. I keep it under 20 a day. I do walk and try to make sure to work out everyday as well.

Then just tweak from there to find your sweet spot, it can take a while to find your groove. Are you also watching caloric intake? Also remember fats not a free for all and make sure your protein is adequate as well.

(Allie) #8

Your body is not a machine, you cannot program it to shrink by a set amount each day. Losses will be up and down, that’s just how it works.

(Mindy Rees) #9