Snacking - drinks

(H) #1

Newbie here… but I’ve been reading a lot on this forum about snacking and only having two meals a day.
This might be a stupid question but what do people do for drinks… if you have a cup of tea with almond milk or something, is that ok? Or do people tend to stick to water or something?
Also, is Diet Coke ok? I can’t quite get my head around the rules on sweeteners!
Thanks!

You can do it however you like, almond milk isn’t going to screw anything up, and there are no rules on sweeteners other than stay away from real sugar. I drink diet soda every day and have for years. Some are anti-sweetener, most aren’t.

(H) #3

Great! Thanks!

You can also try some other things, such as Zevia drinks. It’s sweetened with Stevia leaf, It’s basically carbonated water, but has a pretty good taste and quite similar to sodas overall. (I like the Cream Soda the most, but they have plenty of flavors) … For some, keeping the sweets around, even drinks, does not help them lose the sweet-tooth itself and worry about this. But if this doesn’t bother you, give some a try. Some folks do Diet Soda’s as mentioned above, while others will say they are wrong for this. But some also forget that everyone is different and they should do what works for them and them alone.

(H) #5

Thank you! I’ll definitely look out for that!

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #6

There are no rules. There is just a sense that the less processed our food is, the better. Almond milk contains carbohydrate, but as long as you keep it within limits, it’s fine. The same would be true of cow’s milk, as well.

Artificial sweeteners are a problem only for certain people, who believe that such sweeteners cause their insulin level to spike (insulin being the main fat-storage hormone, a spike is not considered a good thing). The good news is that not every sweetener affects everyone. So if you feel that one sweetener is interfering with your progress, another sweetener is likely to be fine.