Pork Loin

(KM) #1

Well once again I have been duped by a crockpot recipe that claimed my “white meat” pork loin would be just awesome cooked this way, and I’m on the way to having four pounds of rock solid dry as a bone pork dust floating in a nice broth. Any way to save this? I seared what fat cap there was, and it’s been crocking on high for about three hours, so I could probably take it out and do something else with it if recommended.

(Harriet) #2

Not as a roast, nope. I’ve been cooking with slow cookers for almost 40 years, I’ve yet to find a recipe that makes it possible to use one to cook extremely lean meat well. I’ve surrendered, my go to for lean meats is to roast with a leave in probe thermometer.

If you like to experiment you could turn your dust roast into a soup or stew, basically cook it moist even further and it might break it down. You could run it through a food processor and make it the base of a chili like dish. I might be tempted to process it then build a cheesy white sauce with chicken broth. Think simmered and added fat to give it pseudo moisture.

(KM) #3

Ok, thank you, you’re actually making me hungry for my pork brick! Cheese sauce, here I come.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4

A crock pot really requires a recipe with liquid. It can’t roast the way an oven can. But if you ever do try that recipe again, set the pot on low, not high. You might get edible meat that way, especially if you use a fattier cut.

(Doug) #5

Yeah - something like a chuck roast does awesomely in a crock pot, even with no water at all as with 'Mississippi Pot Roast." But lean meat… Pork loin - I’d have it underwater or under broth, or close to it.

–Doug (porkloin@aol.com since 1996)