New Labs, something needs to change

(Denise) #1

I’ll be looking at lowering trigs today, I am not liking these Labs I just got back this a.m. 16-17 months into Keto. HbA1cs are good but even 5.9 gets flagged in the US.

Total Cholesterol 405

Trigs/HDL = 4.20

Here are past results to compare, and feedback welcome:

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

Your HbA1C is at least trending in the right direction. Do you have the number for CRP, WBC, and ferritin?

Also, your latest ratio of triglycerides over HDL is 100 / 61 = 1.64, which is excellent. You put 4.20 in your post, but I’m not sure where that comes from.

(Denise) #3

Oh thank God, I divided the trig by the hdl but must have mis-entered on my calculator app Paul, thanks so much, that scared me, I’m still believing the cholesterol total conflicts with all the other info I’ve learned here and online other places.

(David Spector) #4

I’m just a beginner here, but my first question is whether you are actually in ketosis. Each individual has their own daily threshold for net carbs. You might buy some Ketostix or a ketosis meter to find out your actual metabolic state.

(Bob M) #5

Firstly, I would see if I could get a CGM. HbA1c relies on the length of time your red blood cells live. If yours happen to live longer, you’ll get a higher HbA1c than someone whose red blood cells don’t live as long.

Your HDL continues to go up and your trigs aren’t bad. Do you drink coffee, even decaf? If so, that could cause higher trigs. (For me, coffee doesn’t do anything, but there are others for which it does.)

As LDL and TC (total cholesterol), I don’t think these matter much. But, if you do, get a coronary arterial calcification scan done. Where I live, this is not covered by insurance, but I was able to find a place that charged $100. Without a prescription. But this is the only easily-available test that quantifies calcification.

(Denise) #6