New and need help , mistake or no?

(Gerri) #1

Hi. I am a newbie. Its been about 3 weeks. And I am frustrated. Not sure if i am doing it right but have cut the carbs. Today I accidentally ate 2 pieces of lightly fried calamari because i saw an artical that was wromg. My 3rd piece i questioned and looked it up again. So now did i mess up 3 weeks of work.??? Sorry if this is a stupid question.

Why would it be wrong…? And no, we don’t just undo all the work even if we eat a little bunch of sugar though it slows things down if we get out of ketosis. I was super good and stayed on keto until fat adaptation, I wanted that and didn’t take chances, it wasn’t so hard anyway.
Accidents may happen though.

(Gerri) #3

One said I could then i read i couldnt eat it . I dont want to get out of ketosis. I am wondereing if that 3 small calamari could have done that.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4

If the calamari was breaded, or if the tomato sauce had sugar in it, it could conceivably be a problem, especially if you ate a great deal of it. The fat it was fried in might also make a difference. The calamari itself is perfectly fine; the way it’s prepared would possibly make it a problem.

However, you are very early into this way of eating, so a single carby meal might slow you down a bit, but you’ll recover just fine.

The essence of ketogenic eating is to keep your carb intake low. It’s best to avoid sugar completely, for a lot of reasons, but if you keep your carbs under the recommended limit, then you can pretty much eat what you want. We tell you to stay away from grains, starches, and certain vegetables, but that’s because they contain a lot of digestible carbohydrate, so eating them can easily make us exceed our limit.