Net Carbs Newbie

(Wayne Doran) #1

Hi all,

I am a total Keto newbie and looking for advice. Today I thought on my 1st day I had nailed the targets only to find my net carbs were on 2g and showing red in carb manager. I thought I had to keep net carbs under 20g so how come it’s showing red? Total Carbs were 19g of my macro of 23g? Help and advice me much appreciated.

Thanks

Wayne

On keto, there is no such things as too low net carbs. You have only a limit, no target. You can’t reach zero if you eat properly as most food has some carbs but you can go quite low. If you feel right doing so, don’t worry about a low number, it’s good.
I ate about 5g total carbs today, it’s perfect :smiley: When I was a newbie, I couldn’t go nearly this low but my food choices were quite different for various reasons. Some people start with very low numbers right away.

(Wayne Doran) #3

Thank you so much for the swift response :slightly_smiling_face:. I just thought I had done something wrong with it showing red on carb manager. I’ve attached a screenshot of my 1st day. Banging headache now but feel ok apart from that.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4

Our ideas of human nutrition have been distorted by the false notion that saturated fat and/or cholesterol are unhealthy and cause cardiovascular disease. This notion was promoted in the 1950’s by people with an agenda on the basis of faulty (possibly even fraudulent) “science,” and has been shown to be baseless, but it became nutritional orthodoxy for political reasons. After that, it became necessary to promote a high-carbohydrate diet, in order to replace calories lost from no longer eating fat. (Before that point, it was universally understood that carbohydrates were fattening and bad for us in quantity.)