Need help with Macros

(Ryan) #1

I am new to keto and I have type 2 I am 6’3” and weigh 275. I am scared of my diagnosis and know that keto can help me. I am trying to understand how to calculate my macros and how many calories I should eat to lose weight.

Thanks in advance

(Geoffrey) #2

I’m probably no help but I would just lean more towards carnivore and just focus on eating fat, protein, salt and water.

I never ate according to plan even when I had one… But first I couldn’t have. How would anyone know, including you, how much food do you need on any given day?
Anyway, let’s start with the simplest approach and eat to satiation. It may work just fine, it happened to many people.

But for a newbie, the most important thing is to get used to keto and enjoy it enough to stick to it. If you have a healh conscious determination, it’s less important but we still should enjoy our food most of the time I say :smiley:

So that’s about amounts. Whatever feels best, in the beginning at least.
Macros, grams, ratios… It’s individual. You want little carbs and enough protein. And enough fat to get you enough energy. Apart from that, try to find that works and feels best for you. I don’t go over 65% fat because I would overeat there (high protein need, not high energy need, fat-loss goals. my taste drags me a bit higher but it can be trained to some extent). While some people need 80% fat. Or even way more but 80% may have therapeutic purposes. Our “ideal” macro percentage (or ranges as it’s possible one has a huge wriggle room. I don’t, normally) depends on various things, energy and protein need, goals, even personal taste matters… We can’t all just eat according to any keto macros, our bodies may not let us. And it often knows what it needs and wants so good to listen to it. In some cases, it doesn’t do, something is messed up and we need to guide it…