Need help balancing enough fat with not exceeding protein

(Nigel) #1

Hello, I’m fairly new to keto and I need some help. I’m currently eating 19g/ carbs, 94g/ protein and 117g/ fat per day. I am having a very hard time getting the proper amount of fat in everyday. I eat mostly eggs, steak, avocado oil, Keto fat bombs and mct oil for my fat. My carb intake has not been more than 15g in a day since I started. But my ketone levels are all over the place. One day my test strip is super dark (good) and next day it is super light (bad). Anyone have any advice for a newbie?

(Scott) #2

Put the test strips away and just embrace this way of eating. If you watch your carbs you won’t really need to count other amounts. If you feel you need more fat eat more butter, cook with more fat or buy fatter meats. I bring my steak or pork in from the grill and place five pats of butter on each one.

There is no proper amount of fat, fat fills the gaps, you’re also not going to go over in protein, that’s not a thing. Fat bombs (while they taste awesome) is just keto junk food. Your ketone levels don’t matter, don’t waste your time checking them. Keep your diet right, and let keto do it’s thing.

(Robin) #4

You’re in the right place. And I concur with the other responses. Don’t sweat this. Keto can and should be simple. The best indicator of your progress is your clothes and how you feel. Stay around 20 carbs or less, and the rest will follow.
Many people DO check ketones, and use various methods to measure many factors. But it is only one of the many ways folks on here approach keto. I’ve never used a ketone stick or measured anything and I soon learned my scale could sabotage my momentum. I now weigh once a month out of curiosity. 17 months into keto, I’ve lost over 50 pounds. In the very beginning, I used an app (CarbManager) just to get a rough idea of how to eat. I soon knew it was simple…. Stay under 20 and rock on. You got this!

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #5