Metformin etc

(Sue) #1

Hello all,
I am a newbie since November, but already am amazed at how good I feel. Have dropped 14 lbs and fasting blood glucose is slowing coming down. Was 120ish now 100-108. That may take some time to get below 100.

I am currently on Metformin. I would LOVE for the 2 Keto Dudes to do a show how the oral meds and its affects on blood glucose. I guess what I’m asking is it bad to be on Metformin? I want to eventually get off it but I just would like to know if taking it will have adverse affects on my demented metabolism in the future.

I am a avid reader and love information on anything health and have noticed some discussion in the medical field that Metformin is good for anti aging, decrease in some cancers. Haven’t seen the studies myself, but would love to hear what you all think. Don’t really trust Pharma, but would love some input.

Love your podcast and this forum. I have learned so much. Thank you for all that you do!

Sue

(jilliangordona) #2

Metformin as actually one of the better drugs! Metformin decreases the amount of glucose in the blood and increase glucose intake in muscles without increasing insulin.

I am on metformin and chose to go on it after no weight loss for a year on keto. I am hoping is I continue to fast I will be able to get off of it and see weight loss. I am with you in that I would prefer to not be taking it, but some (including @richard) need to be on metformin regardless

I’d recommend picking up The Obesity Code. Great insight.

(Heather Miller) #3