Low Blood Ketone Readings - Exercise Related?

(Justin Durgin) #1

Hello. I recently been dealing with a quandary I could use some help clarifying. My blood Ketone meter has been giving me readings as low as .2 mmol/L. The highest I’ve been able to get in the last week is .4. I’ve been ketogenic for 5 months, with only one or two days with carbs over a hundred grams. For the most part less than 30, and those mostly incidental from nuts and eggs. I work out every morning from 4 a.m. to 6 a.m., running and lifting (fully fasted aside from water) and am a carpenter by trade, so I am rarely ever sitting. On average I get about 30000 steps on my Fitbit each day. so I am thinking that my increased activity and exercise make my body extremely efficient at using the ketones? I’m not really sure. I wanted to test it, so I purchased some exogenous ketones. I have tried taking them pre work out in the morning, and tested my ketones after a workout. I have attempted post-workout, at midday, before/after dinner, and test an hour and two hours later, just to see if I can flood my body with ketones and get a really high reading. No dice. The highest I’ve gotten is .4. the only thing I can think of is that my body uses ketones extremely well, and when they are available I do not waste them. There is nothing in my diet that would cause me to fall out of ketosis. And aside from Bulletproof Coffee at 6:30am, I typically only eat once a day at around 6 p.m. So I fast generally 22 or so hours a day. I’ve been trying to find some information on the forums about this, but I have yet to find and extremely well-trained person comment on having very low Ketone levels

(Justin Durgin) #2

To clarify, I have been testing my blood ketones inconsistently for the last 3 months. It’s only in the last week I’ve been testing multiple times a day to gauge my level of ketosis.

(Zack F) #3

Wow. 30,000 steps! Do you walk the Appalachian trail to work every day? :wink:

(Justin Durgin) #4