Let me get this straight-If I drink heavy cream and eat butter I’ll be skinny?

(Blue Polka) #1

I’m new to this Keto thing and it’s throwing me for a loop-what I’m reading. So you’re telling me that if I eat the following everyday for example:

-endless cups of heavy cream and heavy cream lattes

• a stick of butter
  • cream cheese, pimento cheese, almond butter, cashew butter smothered on endless celery sticks
  • salad drenched in olive oil
    -spoonfuls of coconut oil
  • Sour cream, cheese
    …you’re telling me this will get me to be a skinny girl and not make me sick and fat!!! Say what!!!

No. That’s not what anyone says (or should be saying if they are.)

I’d start here:

http://blog.2keto.com/frequently-asked-questions/

(Blue Polka) #3

Ok… it seems that is accurate from the bit I read.

(Allie) #4

What reputable site says you can drink “endless” cups of heavy cream, spoonfuls of coconut oil, or eat “endless” cream cheese, pimento cheese, almond butter, cashew butter? Please post what you’ve read?

(Amanda) #6

Not in my experience, per se, the list you gave are all delicious items to INCLUDE in your meals, not base your meals on. Include healthy fats, quality protein and low carb veggies. Then add in what you like to make it the most delicious! For me, the answer is ALWAYS butter!

I am no expert, only been doing this for about 5 months, but this has worked for me! 60+ lbs down, still a lot to go. :smile: Good luck on your journey!

(Blue Polka) #7

The website I was referred to above said to eat FAT to satiety. So yeah as much as I want in other words. It says to moderate proteins and eat fat to satiety—- hence my original question/ point—-Say what?!?!?!

Satiety does not mean “endless” which implies a gluttonous gorging which I’m afraid is giving keto a bad rap in many circles. “Satiety” means eat just enough until you’re satisfied. Satiety and “endless” are two entirely different concepts, hence our disconnect on the language you’re using.