Learning to Listen to My Body's Hunger Cues

I have been doing Keto for about 8 months. I eat 70-80% of my calories from fat and I stay below 20 g carbs each day (most days, I’m between 10-15 gs carbs). For the first time in my life, I’m not hungry all of the time. For the first time since I can remember, I’m not thinking about what my next snack or meal will be while I’m finishing up my current meal. For the first time since I was a kid, my body’s natural fullness cues are reasserting themselves. This is HUGE!

The problem is that I’m having to relearn how to listen to my body when it comes to hunger. A few days ago I looked at the clock and thought, “Wow. It’s late. I need to eat lunch.” The problem? I wasn’t the least bit hungry. I actually listened to my body and didn’t eat. I ate when I really felt hungry. It was pretty incredible. It’s not that easy, though. I do intermittent fasting. I do not eat before noon (and prefer to eat after 1 or 2 pm) and then I try not to eat after 8 pm. That same day, I was full after my last meal, but I still wanted to eat. I did eat. I tried to figure out what to do with myself, instead of eating. I had a large mug of tea. I drank some water. I went and did a project away from the kitchen area. My body was not hungry, but my mind couldn’t let it go. Eventually, I ate. Quite a bit. All of it compliant food.

Yesterday, when I got out of bed at 8 am, I was hungry. HUNGRY. I did my usual of drinking a large glass of water, then some seltzer, then some tea. At 11 am, I was VERY HUNGRY. My daughter, who has always been thin and who only eats when she’s hungry said to me, “Mom. Eat. If you’re hungry, then eat. If you don’t, then you will over eat later in the day.” She was absolutely correct.