Ketostix readings?

(Jeann Hannah) #1

I’ve been doing KETO for a few months and just bought some Ketostix….my readings have been between Trace and Small 1st thing in the morning before eating…yesterday it showed Moderate…are these good readings? Keto has brought my BP down to healthy numbers but my blood sugar levels have been between the high 90’s and under 120…any input on how I’m doing and what I might do better??? I’m 72 and 5’1" and weigh between 133 & 136 pounds…my weight doesn’t seem to be improving -:(!

(less is more, more or less) #2

For LCHF, I find keto strips a waste of money and time, but not if you’re Type 1 diabetic, but that’s a different matter.

We need more information. What does “keto” mean to you?

Update

If you’re 72, 5’1” and between 133 -136 pounds, what are you hoping to lose? Mathematically, 1/136 is a bigger weight loss than, say, 1/250, if you see what I mean.

(Jeann Hannah) #3

I’m doing Keto for improving my health…I beat having Juvenile Polio, having a Brain Aneurysm in 1991, a Pulmonary Embolism in 2005 and now I’m trying to keep an Aortic Aneurism from rupturing and at my age my Metabolism aint what it used to be. My ideal weight is 115, but at age 72 I’m not sure that I can get down to those numbers again. As for being diabetic…I was told a decade ago that I was glucose Intolerance. Recently I was told My BP numbers were concerning when I got some readings in the 180’s…since I’ve been following the Keto Plan my readings have been under 120/70’s, but today I’m 122/76 and that be going in the wrong direction…I’m open to suggestions!

(less is more, more or less) #4

I’m sorry, @Jeanne520Golf, I’m not being clear. What is Keto, eating-wise, for you? How do you know whether your “eating Keto” or not?

(Jeann Hannah) #5