Keto treats

(Alyse Dusk) #1

I am new to Keto and a confessing sugar addict.
I have started buying sugar-free low carb treats as an alternative to curb the cravings.
Some are 0g sugar Og carbs. Does this mean I can eat as much as I like in a sitting and daily? I am trying to only get Stevia sweetened as I am aware of health risks in artificial sweeteners, although this is proven difficult as Stevia alone sweets are harder to come by and can be expensive. Forgive my ignorance. I still have alot to learn!

(Polly) #2

If you really want to curb the cravings the best plan is to avoid sweet things. Eventually, quite ordinary foods will taste a little sweet and sweet foods will taste disgusting.

People have different attitude about sweets but I think very very few of us would think we shouldn’t care about amounts in this time.
It’s not real food. If you can get away with some (I mean, they don’t interfere with your goals, physically or emotionally, there are many, many cases when they do), eat if you must and hopefully you won’t need them eventually or just very rarely. The goal should be eating normal food and not being a slave of your sweets desires forever. I ate a lot of sweets for very long when I can’t do extreme low-carb (I never wanted desserts on carnivore, the desire simply disappear completely, it’s wonderful for someone like me. I half-lived on desserts on keto and it didn’t seem to change, only my sweetener consumption dropped) but I focused on my normal food. I just sweetened some of my normal food and I even tried to train myself to minimize the sweetener, keto helps with it, we feel things sweeter and sweeter, until some point, at least. Then I try to lose my need for sweetness in my sweets, I prefer unsweetened chocolate now but I don’t like chocolate much anymore…