Keto not working for me

I’ve been doing a keto diet for about two months. My macros are 5 % carbs, 25 % protein, and 70 % fat… which I stay within quite nicely. I eat 18/6 most days, but do 3 24 hour fasts weekly. The only time I lose weight is doing an extended fast of 7 days (I’ve done 3 extended fasts before I went Keto. But I have lost no weight since going Keto…in fact I have more belly fat than I had before. The only exercise I am doing is dog walking about 30 minutes a day.

So I need to tweak something. I’m going to start Nautilus 3x weekly and keep the dog walking (they insist!). Has anyone had this problem and had any successful tweaks?

(suzanna) #2

My macros look the same and I’m not losing either. I’m not fasting and was planning to try so very interested in your post. I’m sure you’ll get some great advice from folks on the forum. I’ll be listening too!

(Jodi) #3

Have your measurements changed? My scale stays within the same 5lbs for mos, but my measurements have decreased.

How many grams is 5% carbs?

Have you tested for ketones yet?

What is your % of body fat.

Are you male or female? The latter seems to start more slowly. Although, as a male I wish I had some of the results I’ve seen other guys talk about around these parts.

Sorry you’re experiencing this also. I read cut protein, add protein, cut fat, cut dairy. I’m just plain confused and disheartened right now :upside_down_face:

I feel your pain. Some people like to over analyze and also generalize.

My advice is keep it simple, eat REAL food (not packaged stuff) that has ingredients you can read, avoid artificial sweeteners, and keep the carbs under 20g. Also, be patient. We are all different.

(suzanna) #7