Keto and Arthritis; Keto and amount of protein

(Kira) #1

Hi guys,

I am a beginner at keto dieting. I am supported by a professional who worked out meal plans for me. I have been at it for 17 days and am only i light ketosis. I lost around 8 pounds which doesn’t appear much to me considering I need to lose around 25 more pounds to be on normal weight again.
I am 60+ and have been having arthritis of the bigger joints for 30 years but which is quite good under control with mtx injections. I don’t really suffer, only on occasions even though my rheumatoid factor is rather high currently. I was a sugar junkie!

Is anyone here with arthritis and good results? I have read rheumatoid people should not keto diet because of the fat. I started anyway, and so far, I feel really good.

Since I am living on a meal plan with 2 meals/day, and which is ever so easy to keep to. I am never hungry and don’t feel like wanting to snack in the evenings like I used to. I drink 3 times more water than I used to, this helps, I guess.

So, I was not worrying about my daily intake until I just realised that I am consuming an additional 10g protein in the mornings (which I have been doing for years) and did not inform my nutritionist. The stuff is collagenic something made from bovine bones, and which is good for the joints (my knee problems stopped completely since). I was not aware that this is actually pure protein (98%) and wonder if this is what stops me from dropping more weight?
Also, I am a little afraid of telling my nutritionist who spends a lot of time working out my meal plans considering I am eating more or less vegetarian. Lastly, I read that too much protein in the body is transformed into sugar!!! Is that why I am in low ketosis and not dropping more weight?

Sorry for the lengthy posting but I hope some of you experts can give me some advice?
Thanks.