Intermittent fasting and bulletproof coffee

(Steven Baggs) #1

Is bulletproof coffee ie- having some cream and butter in my coffee actually breaking my fast and causing my body to change where its drawing energy from? I’m worried that I’m breaking my fast time in half when I have a coffee mid morning.

(LUCAS KRAUSE) #2

Great question. I’m not an expert but my understandings is that anything under 200 calories should not impact metabolism (maybe as long as these are not carb/sugar? )

I’m not sure how this effects other things like autophagy, or other fasting benefits with autoimmune healing, etc.

You might want to read dr fungs book (complete guide to fasting) it goes into a lot more detail. He recommends fat fasts for some people or other benefits as well.

They say the best fast is the one you can do.

I personally have not had issues doing water fasts but if I didn’t have the excessive body fat I might do fat fasts to keep my bf stable.

(KCKO, KCFO) #3

Fung says a small amount of either coconut oil or HWC, like a teaspoon, not the couple of tablespoons BPC recipes contain, should get your through the fast.

There is no standard on what makes a fast broken. Some say anything but the liquids, others under 100 cal. is fine, others 200 cals. is ok. Depending on why you are fasting should be the determining factor. If you are at normal weight, you might need some fats to get through an extended fasting period.

If you are many lbs. over weight the less supplemental fats the better so your body uses its own fats.

(John) #4