I'm suddenly struggling!

(Lisa M) #1

I have been doing a Keto and then Ketovore diet for about 5 years now. When I went higher fat I gained 2 pounds and kept at that weight for a year or so, then dropped 2 pounds finally. I only had about 10 to 15 lbs to lose, but I had a big belly and back and knee pain, also rosacea. I have always had very low energy, but the pains and rosacea went away and my shape changed for the better, I also have more energy than I’ve ever had since I can remember, so I wasn’t terribly concerned with weight. What the problem is now is that last year I suddenly lost 5 lbs and was really happy with that, then last December I started gaining weight. I haven’t changed anything with my diet and I am very strict with it, but I have put on a total of 10 lbs and am panicking! I don’t know why this is happening and it has me very concerned. I weigh more than I have since I was pregnant, which was over 30 years ago! I am 66.
If anyone has had this experience or has any advise I would appreciate it so much.
Thank you!

Are you tracking what you eat? Are you active or do you workout? If you’re sedentary and not doing much in the way of burning cals, or trying to maintain muscle, then you can expect your metabolic rate to drop over time, and when that happens what used to maintain you, will add weight to you.

(Lisa M) #3

Thanks, I don’t work out, but I keep active working and staying on my feet, but I know I should work out. I just can’t figure out why this has happened so suddenly! It could be stress I guess, but I try to keep that under control and get good sleep.

thanks for the reminder though, I’m trying to sprint now at least, i’ll see if that helps!

(KCKO, KCFO) #4