I'm scared I will gain weight if I go full keto!

(Emma) #1

Hi everyone,
I’m relatively new to Keto (started on feb 28th this year), but I feel I haven’t been going “extreme keto”. Why do I mean by this? No bulletproof coffee, no spoonfuls of butter, olive oil, no fat bombs… I’m keeping my net carbs between 20-30 (on naughty days),completely cut off refined carbs and sugar, an my fat intake is between 50-80 grams, protein 70-100. I workout 4 times a week (weights and cardio) and so far I have lost 8.5 kilos (18.7 pounds). HOWEVER, I am considering going higher on fats and lower in carbs, but I have to admit it scares me a lot! The main reason why I started this was to keep my weight under control, so now I’m scared I will gain weight by increasing my fats…does that make any sense? I know it’s silly, but this is the way my brain has been programmed to think for the past 26 years… I’d appreciate it if anyone could please give me some advice, I really need it!
On another note, my husband is COMPLETELY against keto, which is why it’s also difficult for me to actually eat high fat food… he says I’ll die of a heart attack and a balanced diet would be better (he eats rice, pasta, pizza and bread and is SUPER thin!) and I have stopped eating all those things and replaced them with food that has a higher fat content and veggies…Anywho, enough about me! Hope to get some answers on this soon! Thank you :smile: PS: I don’t have a gallbladder either, was removed 6 years ago, hope that doesn’t affect eating higher amounts of fat either

(David) #2

You are right, it is silly (it, not you), but it is the same silly wrong advice we all got programmed with growing up.

Aah the old diet-heart hypothesis which has been disproved so many times. You’ll find links to the evidence on these forums.