Holidays 🤔

(Luke) #1

Hi guys.
I’m going on a 1 week trip overseas in a couple of months. I’ve thought from the beginning to just enjoy the trip eat the country’s cuisine and enjoy a few beers or cocktails ect , not stress about where to find keto options , and get back into my usual
Keto eating pattern on my return , after all it only takes me a couple of days to get the ketones moving again right? Just a question to anyone that has done it as I’m a beginner keto eater , what do I expect to feel like if I go from fairly deep ketosis to having a beer and a Nasi Goreng on my first day of holidays. I’m wondering what I will feel like or how my body will react. Anyone who has experienced this , I’d like to hear from you. Cheers!

(Laurie) #2

Whenever I go off plan, it leads to going completely off, perhaps for years. It could happen immediately (like an on-off switch), or it could happen gradually (e.g., one special occasion, then more and more often, until I’m a goner). For me, it’s better to just not go off keto in the first place.

I guess it depends on whether or not you’re a carb/food addict.

(Chuck) #3

That is what I am afraid of for myself

(Luke) #4

Thanks Laurie. I enjoy eating keto so I’m not to worried about getting back to it after my break , but wondered if the change back to carbs makes you feel ill at all , as I will be on holidays.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #5

If you plan to throw a lot of carbohydrate at your body after a significant time on keto, then it might be well to start a few days before the holiday. Some people have reported that they did not do well with the sudden increase in blood sugar, and it messed with their enjoyment of the trip.

If you are not a carb addict, then you will probably be able to return to a ketogenic diet afterward without too much trouble. But if you do find carbs addicting, then be careful. The effect of the trip might be like an alcoholic taking a wine-tasting tour of France.

(Luke) #6

Thanks Paul.