Higher Glucose, More hungry?

(Leigh ) #1

Hi all. Newbie here. Catching up on the podcast. I’m still in 2017. I’m just two weeks in to eating strictly keto and have for many months mostly fasted until lunch time. Now my glucose seems higher in the morning some days (today 132, yesterday 97, the day before 133) and I’m ravenously hungry when it’s higher in the morning. I have done keto before, but have not faithfully tracked the numbers before. Just wondering if anyone knows the science here. Is my liver flushing out stored glucose during my fasting hours?

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

The short answer is to eat more at mealtime, and not to fear fat.

One speculation I’ve encountered is that such elevated glucose and hunger mean that you might not be getting enough fat, so your body is making glucose to provide energy for your brain. The mantra of “eat less, move more” is so deeply inculcated these days, that it is hard to trust the advice to eat to satiety. And the same with our fear of fat. The notion of arterycloggingsaturatedfat haunts us.

The point of a ketogenic diet, however, is to eat in a way that works with, not against, the body’s hormonal response to foods. And the strongest hormonal response is insulin secretion to deal with carbohydrate, insulin being the hormone that blocks satiation and promotes fat-storage. (Think of eating carbs as being what you do when you want to put on fat for the winter hibernation.) So when we eat enough of the right kind of food, we can go long periods between meals without hunger, because insulin remains low and we have access to our fat stores for energy.